D-Feast Friday

It began with a Tweet.  Lorraine was making pork fried rice for dinner, and while stir-frying the pretty, chopped ingredients, she was compelled to take a picture.  Then when it was all finished, she took another picture and tweeted it with the message:

Homemade & bg friendly Chinese pork and veggie fried rice.

It started a conversation in which Elizabeth tweeted:

Maybe we should have a d-blog day where we all post our favorite carb-friendly recipes. I know @diabetesalic has an AMAZING soup.

Which led to a rapid exchange between Elizabeth, Karen and Lorraine, (with several other excited DOC interjections, which of course included references to bacon), finally leading to this kick off of D-Feast Friday!

Together we invite you to blog about your favorite recipes next Friday, July 23rd.  Does your recipe have to be low carb?  Not necessarily, since we know that everyone’s BGs react differently to foods.  Our hope is that by sharing ideas, we can each walk away with a few new wonderful recipes, although we know not all recipes will work for everyone.

Feel free to include pictures of you cooking, and/or of the final meal, and any special techniques you use.  Have fun with it! (If you’d rather simply link to a favorite recipe that’s already online, feel free to do that as well.) Nutritional information is always welcome, particularly carb counts with defined serving sizes, but also calories, fat and protein if you know it. If your recipe is low carb, gluten free, low calorie, vegetarian or vegan, please indicate this in your title so that people looking for these types of meals will be able to reference pertinent recipes quickly.

Link to your D-Feast Friday blog post by visiting Lorraine, Elizabeth or Karen’s blog (URLs are noted below), and clicking on the button all three blogs will have on the 23rd.  Include the name of your recipe where it asks for “your name.” That title, along with the link to your blog post, will be listed and accessible to anyone looking for a good recipe. You’ll also find all the D-Feast Friday recipes by clicking on that link for easy reference.

If you don’t have a blog, we’d still love for you to participate! Just comment on Lorraine, Elizabeth or Karen’s blog, and we’ll contact you for the recipe, and post it on one of our blogs (attributing you), so that it can be included in the final list of recipes.

Feel free to continue posting and linking to recipes whenever you feel the urge. The list will be ongoing, and the more recipes the better.

Let’s get cooking!

Elizabeth, Idea Master (Pieces of My Life)

Karen, Button & Blog Day Master (Bitter-Sweet Diabetes Blog)

Lorraine, Initial Recipe Tweeter (This is Caleb)

12 Replies to “D-Feast Friday”

  1. I love this idea! We’re going to be on vacation; otherwise, I’d participate. I’m kind of bummed I won’t be able to join you in the kitchen, so to speak. I can’t wait to read all of the recipes!

  2. Love it! We’ll be on vacation but if I get back in time, I’ll add one. Can’t wait to see what everyone shares!

  3. Love this idea! I’m still so new to D…I doubt I will share anything, but I will certainly be reading!

    I hope you’re having a good summer. That diabetes family camp sounds awesome! I never heard of that before!

  4. Pingback: D-Feast Friday «
  5. I’ve been eating low carb on the Atkins way of living for the past 5 years or so. After I started the diet, I really enjoyed the extra energy I have while eating low carb and it has increased my blood chemistry as well! I’m very thankful to Dr. Atkins. I would really recommend it to anyone looking to adopt a new healthy way of living.

Comments are closed.